Who We Are

 

Meet our Executive Director

Lori Kizner

 

Lori joined the Board of Directors in Fall of 2011 and became Executive Director in October 2015. She has a Bachelors Degree in Social Work from SUNY Stony Brook, Masters of Arts in Counseling from JMU and Masters of Science in Educational Leadership from Radford  University. 

 

For Harrisonburg and Rockingham County kids in grades K-12, BGCHR provides a positive, constructive bridge between the end of the school day and the parents’ arrival home from work. For the kids we serve, this means that they are in a protected, constructive environment during the high-risk hours of 3-8 p.m. During those hours, our top-notch staff of well-trained professionals and volunteers provide kids:

  • An educational enhancement focus through homework help and tutoring
  • A sense of belonging in a setting where young people know they “fit” and are accepted
  • A sense of usefulness through opportunities to do something of value for others
  • A sense of power or influence through opportunities for them to be heard and to influence decisions
  • A sense of competence by instilling the feeling that they have something of value to offer others

The Clubs are managed by a full-time Executive Director and governed by a volunteer board of directors comprised of local residents. We employ a full-time professional staff, supported by part-time workers and dedicated volunteers. These leaders serve as positive role models for our members and help create a warm and friendly environment where children feel safe, welcome and wanted.

Administration

Melissa Cave, Finance Director mcave@bgchr.org

Geo Bonilla, Director of Operations gbonilla@bgchr.org

Wendi Ankrom, Grants Coordinator wankrom@bgchr.org 

 

Our Clubs

Simms Pre-teen (ages 5 – 12, Summer and After School Programs) 
620 Simms Ave, Harrisonburg, 540-434-6060
Director Felicia Hayes - fhayes@bgchr.org 
 
Simms Teen Center (ages 13 – 18, Summer and After School Programs)
620 Simms Ave, Harrisonburg, 540-434-6060
Director Jordan Fisher- jfisher@bgchr.org
 
Elkton Club (PK – 8th Grade, Summer Day Camp, School Year Before and After School Programs)
Elkton Elementary School, 302 West B. Street, 540-830-1716
Director Joey Baugher - jbaugher@bgchr.org
 
South River Club (K – 8th Grade, Summer Day Camp, School Year Before and After School Programs)
South River Elementary School, 2101 Elm Ave, Grottoes, 540-249-0111 Director Sara Brown - sbrown@bgchr.org 
 
Plains Club (K – 8th Grade, Summer Day Camp, School Year Before and After School Programs)
Plains Elementary School, 225 American Legion Road, Timberville, 
540-896-3310, Director and Mallory Marshall– dtrawick@bgchr.org and mmarshall@bgchr.org
 
Spotswood Club (any Spotswood Elementary students, School Year After School Program)
Spotswood Elementary School, 400 Mountain View Drive, Harrisonburg, VA 
540-421-3655, Director  Joel Simms- jsimms@bgchr.org
 
Stone Spring Club (any Stone Spring Elementary Students for the School Year After School Program)
Stone Spring Elementary School, 1575 Peach Grove Ave, Harrisonburg, VA
540-271-8981. Director Joel Simms - jsimms@bgchr.org
 
For more information about each club, click on the "Our Clubs" tab and visit their web page.